SOCIAL VIDEOS HIT THE SWEET SPOT

So, I knew I wanted to write this entry about social videos because I personally happen to love, love, love, an emotionally appealing video that tells a story.  I looked all over the internet to find a textbook definition of social video.  No such luck… Bummer.

In sum, social video marketing is when a company creates a digital video (some are shorter than others) that tells a story and is shareable. These videos create buzz. They create conversation, and most importantly, they create connections.  Also important to note that these videos are typically uploaded directly onto a social site.

According to Psychology Today, emotions are the main reason why a person prefers one brand over another. Likewise, people will purchase the name brand over generic with the same ingredients because the brand has made an emotional connection with the consumer. Believe it or not, people identify the same type of personality traits of brands as they do with people. Weird, right? So what does this mean?  It means that by creating a shareable video that is emotionally appealing, you are creating connections between consumers and brands, and ultimately helping establish brand loyalty!

LENGTH MIGHT MATTER

So, how long should the video be?  It’s 2016, that ol’ saying ‘time is a commodity’ is probably an understatement. You’re busy. I’m busy. We’re ALL busy! Seriously, I would be surprised if anyone actually makes it through this entire post. With that being said, shorter videos are typically better for allowing your audience to be engaged the entire time.  Personally, I like a longer video that tells a more in-depth story, but that just might be me.  According to Sprout Social, these were the 2015 statistics:

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 9.09.57 PM

There is so much more I could say on this topic, but I know that I have already lost half of my readers at this point. So I will end with one of my all-time favorite social videos. Enjoy!

 

 

5 thoughts on “SOCIAL VIDEOS HIT THE SWEET SPOT

  1. I agree. I love social videos. I even find myself drawn to the ones that are about us being too immersed in our devices. And what we sometimes miss out on by being immersed in our devices. It is an interesting era that we live in where a social “video” about this phenomenon of being too screen focused can go viral. The irony of us (myself included) drawn to the screen to see a social story about how we are sometimes too focused on the screen amazes me. But you’re right, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve teared up or otherwise been touched/deeply affected by watching a social video. Something that captures a social phenomenon into a visual and really hits the mark enough for us to want to hit “share”. For example, I’m thinking of the one with the people behind the screen where you just see their skeletons and they embrace and/or kiss and you don’t know their age, gender, religion, orientation, etc. until they come out from behind the screen. I also like the social service type of announcement videos about what can happen when driving and texting. What can happen when we just look down for “one second”. I think those are incredibly powerful and capture the message (that a parent wants to relay to his/her teenager) so much more effectively than saying “do you know you can get in an accident if you are texting while driving?” The visual impact is powerful and lasting. I do find that as much as I would love to watch a 10-minute or longer social video there is this time-pressured drive in me (and I imagine in many of us) where the feeling is “I don’t have time to watch this whole thing right now–I’ll get back to it later and then I don’t”. So length does matter. It is true, The faster it can be captured, the more likely we are to watch and then share and then connect on that sharing. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Video duration certainly plays a role, but I think you hit on it more when you talked about emotion, as that tends to drive not only viewing but sharing. In fact, there is a great article in Entrepreneur that not only gives great examples of some viral marketing campaigns but also breaks down the six key drivers of video virality/sharing, which include “Social Currency (e.g., sharing things that make people look good), Triggers (acknowledging that we talk about things that are top-of-mind), Emotion, Public (imitating what we see others do), Practical Value (news people can use) and Stories (information passed along under the guise of idle chitchat)” – http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/233207. I would argue for humor as another driver, but perhaps that falls under emotion. What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think that the perfect example of length has been the adoption of time limits on Instagram and Vine. These platforms only allow users to post videos that are really “short snippets.” Today’s media consumers are usually on the go or eager to keep scrolling. “Marketers have just 10 seconds to capture and engage an audience before they continue to scroll down or click away; and engagement drops off significantly beyond that. If you have not fully engaged your audience after the first 30 seconds, you’ve likely lost 33% of viewers; and after one minute, 45% of viewers have stopped watching.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I read your entire post – it’s great! I agree with you 100% – for social videos, it’s all about making a connection and what better way to do so than to tug at the heartstrings! While I do enjoy longer social videos (if I have the time), I fall into that statistic of viewing 15-30 second videos most often. Social videos have taken the Internet by storm, and not only on the well-known YouTube platform, but on a host of emerging media channels, such as Instagram, Facebook, Google+ and LinkedIn. Brands can even “pin” videos to Pinterest these days. And just as brands can share videos across these platforms, as can consumers. Social video is unique, not only due to its easy access or share ability, but because powerful messages can be shared with audiences in ways that static content can’t.

    https://blog.hootsuite.com/how-to-use-social-video-for-marketing/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As a video producer this is a topic that I am frequently discussing with my marketing and management team. Two things I always ask first is what platform the video is going to be played on, and who is the intended target audience. These two questions really help me when I am deciding how long to create the video, and what style I am going to use when editing. Studies have shown that the average length of a video watched on Facebook is 81.22 seconds while the average YouTube duration is 870.89 seconds. It is also important to note that YouTube engagement is typically better the longer the video is, while Facebook statistically has overall better engagement rates for shorter videos. Long story short, it is important for marketers and video professionals to consider the platform where the video is going to be viewed.

    Smith, A. (2015, December 2). What’s the optimal length for a YouTube vs. Facebook video? Reel SEO. Retrieved from http://www.reelseo.com/optimal-video-length-youtube-facebook/

    Like

Leave a Reply

